Johannes, Nielsen and Widman excel at Cornhusker Trap Shoot

2 Arlington, 1 Blair marksmen earn top finishes


Washington County marksmen Lane Johannes, Dalton Nielsen and Wyatt Widman earned top finishes last week during the 51st Cornhusker Trap Shoot in Doniphan.
Johannes and Nielsen competed in the Senior Division during the three-day event, which attracted more than 2,200 junior high and high school shooters to the championship range. Johannes, an Arlington High School student, was a yardage winner Saturday, breaking 68 of the 75 clay targets he saw from 18-19 yards. Second-place Jaxson Stark of Lincoln Southeast hit 66, while third-place Cambry Everett of Lincoln Southwest shot 66, too.
Nielsen, a Blair Youth Shooting Sports member, finished 17th during Friday's 16-yard competition, hitting 73 of the 75 clay targets he took aim at. First-place Benjamin Menking of Fremont was 75-for-75, besting Michael Day of Bellevue West, and Peyton Anderson and Ben Wilweding of Millard West in a shoot-off.
Widman, meanwhile, represented Arlington in claiming sixth during Thursday's junior high competition in Doniphan. While first-place Zach Hinze of Republican River 4-H hit 97 of 100 targets during the shoot, the Washington County marksmen shot 93.
In addition, Austin Lorenz of Blue River 4-H won the Cornhusker Cup presented to the Senior Division's overall champion. The shooter notched a two-day score of 145 — out of a possible 150 — to claim the honor after a four-person shoot-off.
The top high school team for the Cornhusker Trap Shoot was Millard West, while the top 4-H team was 5 Clovers and the top ladies team was from Papillion-La Vista High School.
The Blair Gold lineup, of which Nielsen was a member, finished fifth during Friday's 16-yard competition with 357 targets hit. The Arlington 1 team was 17th.
Complete 16-yard competition results for shooters from Arlington, Blair and Fort Calhoun are as follows, according to
Arlington: Sam Arnett 73 (out of 75), Jake Bartosh 73, Cade Arnett 69, Kole Dowling 67, Blake Japp 63, Alaina Schwedhelm 58, Lane Johannes 57, Lilly Stonehocker 55, Jacob Beans 51 and Kayla Schwedhelm 41.
Blair: Dalton Nielsen 73, Zach Raymond 73, Triston Clausen 71, Weston Lupardus 71, Dalton D. Nielsen 71, Andrew Browning 69, Skyler Puffer 68, Carter Mandarich 67, Ashton Tranmer 66, Gage Hearn 65, Caleb Knapp 63, Ian Lode 62, Bolton Parker 61, Camden Wulf 61, Tyler Hume 57, Kyle Gross 52 and Anissa Hill 52.
Fort Calhoun: John McKennan 72, Kaitlin Smith 69, Ethan Shaner 65, William Bogar 64 and Morgan Shaner 55.
Arlington Juniors: Wyatt Widman 93 (out of 100), Jake Vanek 86, Zane Gerrish 84, John Van Behren 76, Kaleb Dowling 75, Wyatt Flesner 74, Brayden Stonehocker 74, Tate Johannes 71, Cooper Staats 71, Cyris Sass 59 and Haleigh Deming 48.
Blair Juniors: Harold Kies 87, Johnny Henton 79, Kalvin Kies 79, Bennett Mandarich 78, Colton Nixon 78, Gaige Bolton 76, Elijah Tabor 74, Jaydyn Backman 68, Jonah Tabor 65 and Bella Reynolds 63.



No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment