Blair Wrestling Club hosts annual tourney


The Blair Wrestling Club Tournament was contested Saturday on 11 mats spread out across two gymnasiums at the Gardner-Hawks Center.
On those mats, Bears claimed 12 first-place youth finishes inside the former home of the Dana College Vikings. Zarek Schroder, Aden Maschman and Knox Lyon won pre-kindergarten to kindergarten age division titles, while Bowen Ray and Brock Whyrick won in the first-to-second grade category. Oliver Westerfield and Emmet Rosterman topped their third- and fourth-grade competition, and Carson Faue and Michael Buckley were first at the junior high age levels.
MWC Wrestling Academy grapplers from Blair accounted for three wins, too. Cole Welte, Hudson Loges and Brock Templar were first, while Tannon Bellamy earned a second-place finish. Blair Wrestling Club's Theo Newsom, Weston Lyon, Brenden Hopple, Greyson Nixon, Landry Larsen, Emmet Tegtmeier, Easton Kruse and Henry Sullivan also claimed silver.
Fort Calhoun Pioneer Wrestling Club champions were Cohen Hallberg, Cache McNew, Bennett Miller, Baeli Gossman, Liam Combs, Kyler Pearson and Nolan Larrick. Second-place finishers were Rowen Combs, Bennett Gossman, Brooks Miller, Paxton Mann, Abel Christensen, Henry Christensen, Barrett Gossman, Wyatt Mann, Michael Dennis, Nathan Duros and Connor Holmstedt.
Arlington youth wrestler Tyson Soll claimed a first-place finish at Dana College, too, while six Eagles earned second-place finishes. The silver medalists were Alex Blake, Ryker Wegner, Breccon Bowman, Tristin Schakat, Ericson Lozo and Logan Egbarts.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment